What's UP

Dr Wawit Torres

Congratulations to Dr Wawit Torres!

PSC Commissioner Olivia “Bong” Coo and Deputy Executive Director Merlita Ibay welcomed newly appointed commissioners Walter Francis Torres and Edward Hayco at the PSC Administrative Office in Rizal Memorial Sports Complex in Manila last December  28, 2022.

Dr. Torres served as the Chef de Mission for the 2022 ASEAN Para Games and is the Secretary-General of the Philippine Paralympic Committee (PPC), while Hayco, served as the chairman of the Cebu City Sports Commission – CCSC for 12 years.

New Dean hails from Class of 1991!

The Ceremonial Turnover last September 29, 2022 was led by the outgoing dean, Dr. Danilo Magtanong, Class of 1986. After laying down her plans for the college during her speech, she then led the oathtaking of her Management Team. The second part of the program was a Testimonial for Dean Danilo Magtanong who was retiring from government service. Chancellor Padilla, some students, faculty and non-academic staff sent their heartfelt messages. His “mentee” Dr. Tristan Ramos and his good friend Dean Arturo de Leon gave touching speeches to send off the honoree. The UPDAA wishes Dean Magtanong good health and happiness on his best years ahead!